T-20 international cricket tournaments for physically challenged – Wadekar Trophy 2018 Sachin Tendulkar will be present at the ceremony of prize distribution – Vinod Kambli

0 338

st T-20 cricket match between India and Afghanistan of physically challenged players for the “Ajit Wadekar Trophy” was organised by the All India Cricket Association for Physically Challenged (ALCAPC). This ceremony is inaugurated by cricketer Vinod Kambli, Consul General of Afghanistan in India Mohammed Zia Salehi, Mumbai University Vice- Chancellor, Dr. Suhas Pednekar, Trade Attache of Afghanistan Abdul Nafi Sarwari, “Avaya” Regional Sales Head Rahul Bhave, CS Infocomm Managing Director and Anil Jogalekar and All India cricket Association President Ashok Wadekar at Air India ground, Kalina, Santacruz East on 9th December 2018

The tournaments is started from 9th December to 17 December2018, at Sachin Tendulkar Gymkhana, Kandivali and the prize distribution ceremony would also be held at the same venue.

The international tournament has been organised in memory of cricket star and former captain of India Ajit Wadekar. All India Cricket Association for Physically Challenged had been working under guidance of Wadekar for the last three decades to promote cricket among physically challenged players.  Earlier the cricket Associations from 28 states had participated in 5 nations’ international tournament held in Bangladesh.

Ajit Wadekar’s brother and President of All India cricket Association Ashok Wadekar, who was present during inaugural match turned emotional and said that “Ajit had been doing hard work for the physically challenged people for the last 30 years. He was giving a chance to them to play on international platform and helped them to improve their status in the society so that they too could achieve celebrity status. He also help them to improve their self-esteem and team spirit. Ajit’s dream has finally came true. In fact BCCI should have given the affiliation to AICAPC for which he had been trying since 2002. But BCCI is yet to respond to the request. As per the Supreme Court’s decision and the Lodha committee’s recommendations, AICAPC may get the recognition, but one doesn’t know how much time it would take” he added.

The tournament is being held under the International Cricket Council’s “T20 cricket tournament format”. In the zonal leg was Maharashtra, New Delhi, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Haryana, Karnataka, Odisha, West Bengal, Jharkhand and Andhra Pradesh participated.

About the author / 


Leave a reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Brand News